top of page
  • Writer's pictureplanetchild

Qingye Supernatural Office 31

Chapter 31: Death of a Stray Cat (4) PREV / NEXT


“Big brother, what did you see that day? Can you tell me?”


“Oh, it was just like that. That guy drank too much and then saw some stray cat eating the leftover meat, and got angry and threw a fit at it. That cat’s head smashed broken and couldn’t even run, what a pity.”


“So it was like that. Do you still remember where it ran?”


“Probably that greenbelt. Is the cat one of yours?”


“No, we just want to see it.”


“Oh, well that’s up to you. However, there’s been a lot of stray cats here.”


“There’s something like that?”


“Isn’t it? I often see stray cats finding things to eat around here. Last time, there was a cunning one, who took my fish away!”


“Haha! Interesting!”


“What do you mean interesting, ah!”


April 17, 2006: A search for an injured stray cat was conducted and no stray cats or their dead bodies were found. A pool of blood was found at the greenbelt and a sample was taken. Sample #03520060416.


April 19, 2006: The blood sample analysis results were obtained as human blood. Collecting blood samples from Kong Rongde and Su Zhouqin. Sample #03520060419 (1), #03520060419 (2).


Attached: Sample 03520060419 analysis report.


April 20, 2006: The investigation revealed that Zhu Bin suddenly died in 2004. Contacted Zhu Bin’s uncle. Audio file 03520060420.wav.


“A Bin died soon after he came back. My sister-in-law cried all eyes out. My brother went early, she treated him like her son and now he’s dead, how could she not be in pain? Later on, her body has been weak.”


“As far as know, before Zhu Bin died, he was always in good health. Do you know what happened when he died?”


“This..I’m going to close the door to talk to you about this, don’t write my name down, too.”


“You can rest assured, we have interviewed a lot of people and we never write down their names when we do it.”


“Oh, that’s good then. I think A Bin has been taken away by God!”


“What do you mean by that?”


“I grew up with him. He had two sisters and his mom, he was the only man in his house. How can he not have been spoiled? He was always undisciplined and out of control. The other young men in the village went out to work and sended money back home and he was the only man in the family. He didn’t want to stay at home to farm and left the land to his own mother and two married sisters to deal with. There is a harvest every year and even wants his family to send money to him every year. Tch!”


“When you said ‘taken by God’, you meant this?”


“Not even that! He has never done farm work before, nor has he even stepped foot into the kitchen. He hasn’t even killed fish or chicken before. I remember once during New Year’s, my sister-in-law killed a chicken and he just so happened to see it, oh my, and he even threw up! Really...he came back for the Spring Festival and was as lazy as ever, his mom was cooking and she knew he was scared so she didn’t allow him to go into the kitchen and that day he got up by himself and helped her kill a chicken. My sister-in-law cried a happy ‘ah’ that he’s finally becoming sensible. But I don’t think it was the same thing. The chicken he killed, the head was chopped open and his stomach was all messed up. My little daughter said, he looks like those mad people in those TV series…”


“Like those psychopathic serial killers?”


“Yes, yes, yes! That kind of person! And they killed so many people!”


“You think that he must have done something bad somewhere else, so he was taken by God?”


“That’s right! Then, how do people just suddenly die like that?”


“Besides killing the chicken, were there other...well, evidence?”


“Evidence…”


“Dad, Grandma Qi’s cat!”


“Hey, you don’t go do your homework and come here to listen to us talk! Adults are talking, don’t interrupt!”


“Aren’t I reminding you?”


“Little girl, what does Grandma’s Qi’s cat mean?”


“It is a cat raised by Grandma Qi, a big fat cat, very old, and doesn’t move much. That day it saw BinBin brother and jumped and ran away, it was quite nimble!”


“Oh, so it was like that.”


“That girl is right. The old cat became young again, it must have sensed something.”


“We can’t contact Zhou Bin’s two sisters. Can you help us?”


“They will not be happy talking about this. I will just tell you the truth, when Zhou Bin was still alive, it wasn’t rare for them to receive curses from their husbands’ families. They don’t help their in-laws and would always run back home and help their brother with their hands and feet. How am I suppose to say this?”


“Does curse meaning cursing?” (Ok, I was a bit confused but he probably meant to ask if the inlaws casted a curse on them or something)


“Well, if it’s not that then what is it?”


“Oh, nothing.”


April 23, 2006: The audio file was analyzed for results. 03520040415 (1) G (1) .wav.


“The last file had results.”


“Oh? What sound is it?”


“Listen to this.”


CLICK!


“...Quickly get out of the way! Ah! BANG! ...ShaSha...ShaSha...Ahhhhhh!”


CLICK!


“How is it?”


“There still isn’t any noise, nothing.”


“Huh? A Ye, you didn’t hear it, too?”


“No. What did you hear?”


“Someone speaking! A man’s voice!”


CLICK!CLICK!


“....ShaSha...ShaSha…”


“He said, Fei Wen, you are looking for people to kill me. *coughs* I will say it again. Ss

——Fei Wen!!! You are looking for people to kill me!!!”


“Enough already, what’s the need to talk so loud?”


“That’s how he did it.”


“That voice, have you heard it before?”


“Huh? Probably not.”


“It’s not Su Zhouqin’s voice?”


“No. A Ye, do you suspect Su Zhouqin…”


“Well, I guess it’s not.”


“Was it Kong Rongde?”


“That is possible, but we don’t have a voice record of him.”


“Well, then I can’t help at all.”


April 25, 2006: Received a call from client. Call recording 200604252149.mp3


“Help me!”


“Mr. Fei Wen?”


MEOW——


“It’s me! Come save me!”


“Where are you now? What happened?”


“I’m at delivery station. I saw a cat! Lots of stray cats! Just outside the station! They kept on calling and also climbed up to the window and stare at me! Come and save me!”


MEOW!MEOW!MEOW!


“Alright, we will be there as soon as possible. Don’t worry and don’t panic, do you still have the amulet we gave you?”


“It’s here, it’s here! It’s on my hand!”


“Hold on to it good, don’t worry, we will be there soon.”


April 25, 2006: Rushed to the delivery station and found a group of stray cats, more than 20 of them. One of them looked different from the rest and it was failed to be captured. Confirmed the safety of the client and was sent to the office.


April 26, 2006: The client was interviewed on what happened that day. Audio file 03520060426.wav.


“Mr. Fei, can you tell us about what happened yesterday now?”


“It was like this...I slept at the station, watching TV, and suddenly heard a cat and I got so scared. The cat only called once so I relaxed and went to the toilet. When I got out, I heard the shutter door outside was scratched by something, like something was trying to come in...it tried to grab the end, but there was no way it can get in, so it stopped. When it left, I heard a cat call again.”

 
57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page