top of page
  • Writer's pictureplanetchild

Qingye Supernatural Office 32

Chapter 32: Death of a Stray Cat (5) PREV / NEXT


“It started off with one call, but then four and five. There were so many cats calling together! That sound! Hu...I heard someone open the window upstairs and even threw a trash bin down. Those cats stopped for a while and then they started again. The meowing was everywhere as if they were all inside the delivery station. Then, there was a cat that jumped on the window sill and just stared at me through the glass, I, I...I...I hoped that the person upstairs would drive away the cats, but they seemed dead...there was no sound. There was no other sound other than the cats’ meowing! The people are gone! They must have done something!”


“Did the cats do something else?”


“No, that’s not right, there wasn’t time! Those cats were scratching the doors! The one at the window sill, is still there! They want to come in and kill me! Just like how they killed Kong Rongde and Su Zhouqin...I will also be killed!”


“Mr. Fei, please calm down. Drink some water and take a rest.”


“Hu...ha...Can I stay here with you guys?”


“You can.”


“Great...ha, that’s great! Thank you guys so much!”


“There is still one problem. Did you see a strange looking cat yesterday? Blood on its body was crippled, dark fur, but it could also be the blood that caused the dark color.”


“It’s that one! That was the cat that jumped on the window sill! It wanted to come in!”


“So it was like that.”


“Mr. Fei, we heard about a situation once. The area you rented, has an increased number of stray cats, have you ever noticed it?”


“This...I seem to have heard Su Zhouqin mention it once. He said that stray cats are easy to catch. Before I couldn’t really choose, but now I could choose the one that I like.”


“Do you remember when this started to happen?”


“I think it was when I moved in? He only mention the cats once and I was...I was not addicted at that time and just listened to him out of boredom. I was impressed because he seemed pretty human like, who knew he was this crazy.”


“Has he mentioned any special cat that he killed? Or anything else?”


“No. I never heard them talk about it.”


April 26, 2006: A blood analysis report was obtained, confirming that the blood from the green belt was Kong Rongde’s blood.


Attachment: Sample 03520060419 (1), 03520060419 (2) analysis report and comparison report.


April 28, 2006: Zhou Yanghui was contacted. Audio file 03520060428.wav.


“Su Ge is dead?”


“The body has not been found, but the person was missing and the disappearance was strange. Before that, one of his fellow tenants also disappeared in the same way.”


“Oh…”



“Mr. Zhou, do you know anything? I hope that you can provide us some information so that we can find Mr. Su Zhouqin.”


“Um…”


“Mr. Zhou, we found out that you and Mr. Su Zhouqin have abused cats.”


“You...you have all investigated it, so what else is there to ask?”


“We believe that this incident may be related to the cats, but we can’t find the root cause because of the incident.”


“Root cause? Tch! What else can be the cause? Isn’t it those group of animals’ ghosts? Look at me, look at this! This is what those animals scratched out of me! My eye has been dug out!”


“We deeply sympathize with your experience. Mr. Zhou, can you elaborate on how it happened?”


“How did it happen? What do you want to hear? Haha, you guys must have come for a few laughs, huh? I bet you’re not even trying to look for Su Zhouqin, huh?”


“Mr. Zhou, I know you lost one eye, but you’re still alive. Your old friend, Zhu Bin died in the same year and Su Zhouqin and his co-tenant are missing. Life and death are unknown. With all due respect, whether you can still continue to be so lucky, is pretty doubtful.”


“Get lost! Get out!”


“If we can solve this problem, won’t you feel more at ease? It would be better to just cooperate with us and tell us everything, maybe we can help you, too.”


“I don’t need your pity! Get out!”


BANG! CLATTER!SCREECH!


“Hey, kid, if you want to fight, then let’s fight!”


“A Miao.”


“Boss, this guy…”


“I saw a cat outside.”


“Ss! What, what are you talking about, about…”


“I didn’t see it clearly, it disappeared when I saw it. The cat is a big cat with short, multicolored fur. Looks healthy.”


“Ha...you saw it...is it still there...it’s probably staring at me…”


“Zhou Yanghui, now can you talk about what happened to you?”


“...What is there to talk about? Didn’t you see it all? It was that cat who dug out by eye! It is a ghost...it is eyeing me!”


“That, I already know. What I want to know is what you, Su Zhouqin, and Zhu Bin have done. What happened after you returned home?”


“I...I didn't, it would be like this...Su Zhouqin, Su Zhouqin likes to abuse cats! He was the one who started it all! Zhu Bin, that guy is also crazy! He even threw up when he first saw it, but his face, I saw it, he was laughing! I didn’t think about it, but we lived together and worked in the same place. Su Zhouqin was an old worker at that restaurant. I can’t be unhappy with him because of some animals, right? I didn’t know, I didn’t know it would be like this…”


“Do you remember that multicolored cat? Is it one of the cats you killed?”


“Yes...that cat...I remember it was very quiet when Su Zhouqin took it home. It didn’t make any sound at all, when he...and Zhu Bin abused it, there was still no reaction. Su Zhouqin just stopped what he was doing and Zhu Bin felt disinterested and they just killed it. I felt so weirded out...it seemed...like it was hoping to be killed off, and purposely went towards Su Zhouqin’s knife and hit it.”


“Did this happen before Fei Wen moved in?”


“Fei Wen? Ah...it was before he moved in.”


“Did anything happen after it was killed?”


“Nothing happened when I came back, but when I went home for New Years, the cats in the village started to meow at me and even bared their fangs. The people in the village looked at me with a bad eye, so I told them that I was raising cats with the people I lived with and probably had a cat scent on me. When I came back for New Years, I saw several cats sitting at the wall looking at me. That cat called out to its cat group and those cats jumped over to me. They scratched me and dug out my eye...Hu..Hu...my mom and dad came faster than my brothers, that time we had already arrived at home. They heard my yell, so they came back looking for me, out of breath and shocked. Those cats escaped, then. My eyes went blind, my family wanted to kill those cats, but all the others in the village thought I must’ve done something back in the city, so I was attacked by the cats in the village. My dad didn’t say anything. They also thought that I must’ve done something terrible. Wasn’t it just a few animals? Just a few animals!”


“And then?”


“My dad made go to the graveyard in our village and kowtow to our ancestors’ tomb and begged them to protect me...and also made me kneel in front of the entrance to the village, burning joss paper and kowtowing...used money to feed those cats, good fish and good meat to serve them...I don’t know which one worked but when the village cats see me, they only stare, but they no longer get close to me anymore. I didn’t expect it to be still...staring at me...it won’t ever stop…”


……


“Boss, what to look for in that cat?”


_________________


57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page